Staff Information

Utility Services Managerial Professional Staff Group Photo

Meet the Team


Utility Services

Temporary portrait
Lalit Agarwal
Interim Director
402-472-4375
lalit@unl.edu
Temporary portrait
Charles Gibbs,
Technical Manager
402-472-0365
charles.gibbs@unl.edu
City Campus Utility Plant
Tim Barker's portrait
Tim Barker
Plant Operations Manager
402-472-4013
tbarker1@unl.edu
Bob Parham, Plant Chemist
402-472-4035
rparham2@unl.edu
Kenneth Smith, Chief Operator
402-472-4014
ksmith16@unl.edu
Mark Metcalf, Chief Operator
402-472-4014
mmetcalf1@unl.edu
Vacant Position, Chief Operator
402-472-4014
Troy Webb, Chief Operator
402-472-4014
twebb1@unl.edu
Derek Hudson, Utility Operator III
Eugene Kovaliv, Utility Operator III
Quentin Boden, Operator III
Brian Glaze, Operator III
Vacant, Operator III
Jeff Cope, Operator III
Bob Schnell, Chief M.O.S. Operator
Bill Mangers, Chief M.O.S. Operator
David Otto, Chief M.O.S. Operator
 
East Campus Utility Plant
Rick Haave's portrait
Rick Haave
Plant Operations Manager
402-472-3841
rhaave1@unl.edu
Chad Ludeke, Chief Operator
402-472-2400
cludeke@unl.edu
Vacant, Chief Operator
402-472-2400
utilities@unl.edu
Jesse Garcia, Chief Operator
402-472-2400
jgarcia2@unl.edu
Mark Hoefs, Chief Operator
402-472-2400
mhoefs1@unl.edu
Samuel Horton, Chief Operator
402-472-2400
shorton2@unl.edu
Ben Collins, Utility Operator III
Gabe Jones, Utility Operator III
Keith Bacon, Utility Operator III
Mitch Gerlach, Utility Operator III
Phaniso Shabah, Utility Operator III
Maintenance and Mechanics
Temporary portrait
Loren Swanson,
Plants Maintenance Manager
402-472-4012
loren.swanson@unl.edu
Danial Sweeney, Lead Utility Maintenance
402-472-4014
dan.sweeney@unl.edu
Nathan Donahoo, Utility Maintenance
Everett Bowersmith, Utility Maintenance
Vacant, Utility Maintenance
David Keim, Utility Maintenance
Vacant, Utility Maintenance
Ricky Sipes, Utility Maintenance
Chad Parker, High Voltage Technician
Michael Gadeken, High Voltage Technician
Dean Oberg, Utility Plumber
Duane Mischnick, Utility Plumber
 
Instrumentation and Control
Robert Kelly's portrait
R. Clay Kelly
Instrumentation Supervisor
402-472-4010
clay.kelly@unl.edu
Dan Eberhardt, I&C Technician II
Donovan Burrack, I&C Technician II
Christopher Volkman, I&C Technician II
Steve Bathke, I&C Technician I
Joey Mlnarik, I&C Technician I
Office Administration
Temporary portrait
Katie LaBeef
Business Services Coordinator
402-472-4011
katie.labeef@unl.edu
 

Utilities Support & FPC Contracted Services

Charlie Griesen, Construction Coordinator
402-472-8612
charlie.griesen@unl.edu
Mike Cooper, GIS Analyst
402-472-3131
michael.cooper@unl.edu
Danialle Staats, Financial Specialist
402-472-8417
dstaats2@unl.edu
Patrick Moran, FPC Mechanical Engineer
402-875-3371
pat.moran@unl.edu
Brian Meyers, Electrical Engineer
402-472-4816
brian.meyers@unl.edu
Rama Cheruku, FPC GIS Project Manager
402-472-1859
rcheruku@unl.edu

Professional Trade Groups

Operating multiple utility plants to serve three campuses at UNL requires a diverse mix of team members, each performing critical functions to the overall operation.

Chemist

Maintaining appropriate water chemistry is critical to our steam / chilled water system, and the chemist manages all phases of water chemistries, performing all testing and calibration of analyzing equipment. This personnel also work with contracted chemical manufacturers providing chemicals and services to the utility plant and with University Environmental Health and Safety to make sure utility plant is in compliance with all university standards.

Electrical

The electrical staff is responsible for maintaining electrical equipment and systems within the utility plants as well as the electrical distribution systems. They work with engineers and electrical contractors in design, installation, construction, and modifications of electrical systems while adhering to local, state, and national electrical codes.

Instrumentation and Controls

Instrumentation and Controls staff are responsible for proper operation of plant control systems 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. They troubleshoot, repair and calibrate utility plant control systems including those used for the automatic control of high-pressure boilers, centrifugal chillers and all associated equipment. They also maintain the utility metering system and record meter data history.

Mechanical and Maintenance

The maintenance staff is composed of pipefitters and utility maintenance technicians. They are responsible for maintaining the integrity of all mechanical systems within the utility plants as well as miles of distribution piping serving the campus' with steam and chilled water. They work closely with other plant trades as well as contractors to maintain operational reliability.

Plant Operators

Operators are responsible for overseeing the operation of high pressure boilers, turbines, chillers, and related distribution systems and equipment in a safe, reliable, economical manner in the central power plants and two remote plants. UNL utility plants maintain a 24/7 operation and require 4 shifts of operators to maintain effective coverage. These leaders also supervise, train, and evaluate plant staff and maintains required operation records and equipment readings.

Investing in Our Team

We value our team members and create opportunities to enhance the on-the-job experience and environment, such as:

personnel professional development agenda image
OUTREACH

We are proud of our team and our expertise. We create opportunities for our staff to engage with visitors during tours and information sessions.

PLANT ESTHETICS

We believe a team that is proud of its workspace is more effective so we provide funding and direction to support visual and esthetic improvements in the Plants.

JOB-SPECIFIC TRAINING

We regularly provide job-specific training to prepare staff for diverse working conditions. Safety trainings are provided by the UNL Environmental Health and Safety department.

  • Asbestos Awareness
  • Chemical and General Safety
  • Chemical Safety Training
OPERATOR LICENSE TRAINING

We regularly provide training opportunities for operators to advance in licensure. Here are some state of Nebraska licensing examples:

  • Chief Power Engineer Certificate
  • 1st Class Power Engineer Certificate
  • Refigeration Handling Certificate
  • City of Lincoln Tradesman License
  • Forklift Operator License
  • Class A Masters/Contractors Electrical License
WAGE STRUCTURE

We offer a competitive wage structure, which leads to qualified individuals working as a team.

CAREER PATH

We provide each team member with a documented career path advancing compensation levels.

PLANT ESTHETICS

We believe a team that is proud of its workspace is more effective so we provide funding and direction to support visual and esthetic improvements in the Plants.